top of page

BLOG

Confession.... I was a Bikram Snob


Of course. how can Bikram yoga NOT captivate and just draw you in? When I first started practicing down in Soho, NYC in 2001 I was immediately drawn to this mind blowing and extremely challenging 90 minute torture.. My teacher was as exacting as one could have.. and I loved it. So, for the next 10 years I practiced and eventually taught only Bikram Yoga.... NYC is a big place and there were so many studios! So, I never ventured into the Vinyasa/Power Yoga world. Sometimes i even was critical of other forms when I was teaching...

Fast forward.. today I live in Las Vegas and there are is only one Bikram Yoga studio left.. the rest closed but mainly because of competition and management issues. I was left with a few choices and most were watered down versions of the Bikram series By the way, I still feel that the Bikram series is the fastest way to heal the body mentally and physically in the shortest time possible. But I have been practicing Power Vinyasa and a series called TruFusion for the past two years and I have realized all that I have been missing. My teacher is Mark Balfe Taylor, who is a Bikram teacher who has elevated his teaching to a level where he is the director of yoga at Trufusion (www.trufusion.com). The point of this is to say that while my passion for the Bikram series will always be there, I have become focused on doing retreats that combine the Bikram Series and a Power Vinyasa series! 2 classes per day and I call the week PowerBliss!

http://www.hotyogavacations.com/#!vinyasa-bikram-yoga-retreat/vaqg3

So, I'm really excited about our PowerBliss weeks May 15 -22 and a week in October (dates to be announced soon).. It's the perfect combination yoga retreat and it's all done in an amazing Hot Yoga Room.. so check out our PowerBliss! week and come to Mexico!

HOT YOGA RETREAT!

bottom of page